Herrington picked to lead Amherst-Pelham Regional School Committee


Staff Writer
Monday, January 17, 2022

AMHERST — The Amherst-Pelham Regional School Committee will have new leadership this year following a unanimous vote of the panel Tuesday.

In the first meeting after the swearing-in of Amherst’s five representatives, which include three who were reelected and two newly elected in November, the nine-member committee unanimously named incumbent Amherst representative Ben Herrington as chairman.

Herrington, who joined the committee following the town election in 2019, succeeds Allison McDonald, who nominated Herrington.

Amherst representative Peter Demling seconded McDonald’s nomination. “I think he would make a great chair,” Demling said.

Before the vote, Jennifer Shiao, who alongside Irv Rhodes is one of Amherst’s new members, nominated Pelham representative Sarahbess Kenney to serve as chairwoman. Kenney said while she was “incredibly flattered,” she wants to stay committed to ongoing contract negotiations with the Amherst Pelham Education Association.

McDonald was nominated to remain as chairwoman by Leverett representative Gene Stamell. She, too, declined, though, observing that she has replaced former Amherst representative Heather Lord on the negotiating team and is chairwoman of the Amherst School Committee.

Kenney was nominated to be vice president, agreed to serve in that role and received unanimous support.