Labonte wins tight Select Board race in Granby

Granby 09-15-2023

Granby 09-15-2023


Staff Writer

Published: 05-28-2024 10:47 AM

GRANBY — David Alan Labonte narrowly edged out three other candidates to win a seat on the Select Board on Monday.

Labonte received 307 votes, or 36 more than Micheline Turgeon’s 271 votes. The other two candidates, John Arcouette and Nathaniel Albin Masse, received 191 and 84 votes, respectively.

According to unofficial election results, 874 people voted out of 5,010 registered voters in Granby, a 17% voter turnout. Most of the votes came from the polls, though 378 ballots were sent in through the mail.

All but two of the 12 races were uncontested, with a majority of the candidates serving previous terms. In the race for an open Housing Authority Board seat, Douglas Smith narrowly edged out Ronald Richard with 292 votes compared to 269 votes. Write-in candidate for the Housing Authority Board Dakota Richards received 141 votes, the most of any write-in in the election.

Other elected Monday are James Trompke, who will continue as a Planning Board member for another five years; Jennifer Bartosz and write-in candidate Jill Pelletier, who will serve on the School Committee for another three years; Lee Lalonde, who will serve a three-year term on the Board of Health; and Lynn Mercier, who will continue as town moderator.

In addition, Dakota Richards will serve another three-year term on the Board of Assessors. Nicole Menard will collect taxes as town collector for another three years. Gordon Laundry will continue as commissioner of Burial Grounds and Joseph Furnia will remain as the Housing Authority chair. The three library trustees are Denise Conti and write in candidates Bernadette Archambaull and Jennifer Chavin.