Christian Stanley will not seek reelection to Hadley Select Board

  • Hadley Select Board members Joyce Chunglo and Christian Stanley talk prior to a candidates forum, Monday, April 2, 2018, at Hopkins Academy. GAZETTE FILE PHOTO

Staff Writer
Monday, January 11, 2021

HADLEY — After nearly three years on the Select Board, serving as chairman for one year and creating committees focused on climate action, affordable housing and diversity and equity, Christian Stanley will not seek reelection to the position.

“I really enjoy being on the board, but with COVID, with business and with life, I need to focus on other things right now,” Stanley said Tuesday.

The terms for both Stanley and fellow incumbent Joyce Chunglo, first elected to the board in 2003, are up at the April 13 town election.

Chunglo said she is leaning toward getting nomination papers and running for a seventh term.

Stanley said the past year has proven hectic in trying to make a commitment to town business while also attending to family matters and his business, Valley Malt, a malt house on Middle Street that produces organic and locally grown grains for brewers.

He points to the Climate Change Committee, the Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, and the Hadley Affordable Housing Trust, which he is chairing, as achievements of his tenure.

“All of them are doing great things,” Stanley said.

In addition, he cites the hiring of Carolyn Brennan as new town administrator and the success of town officials in reaching a Triple-A bond rating as important developments.

Candidates interested in elected office have until Feb. 19 to obtain nomination forms from Town Clerk Jessica Spanknebel.

Stanley said he enjoyed his time on the board and encourages others to run. “I recommend anyone who has the time and the desire to run for public office,” Stanley said.

Other positions up for election include two three-year terms on the School Committee, held by Humera Fasihuddin and Paul Phifer; a five-year term on the Planning Board held by Michael Sarsynski; a one-year term as moderator held by Randall Izer; two three-year terms as library trustees, held by Jo-Ann Konieczny and Alison Donta-Venman; a three-year term on the Board of Assessors, held by Jeffrey Mish; a three-year term on the Board of Health, held by Emma Dragon; a three-year term on Park Commission, held by Steven Higgins; and a one-year term as elector under the Oliver Smith Will, held by Sheila Konieczny.