Pelham ballot short of candidates


Staff Writer
Tuesday, June 23, 2020

PELHAM — Two candidates will be on the June 30 town election ballot to bring the Select Board back to a full three-member board, including filling a position that has been vacant since last fall.

Tara A. Loomis, of Gulf Road, is the lone candidate for the three-year position currently held by Karen Willard-Ribeiro, while David H. Shanabrook, of Harkness Road, is on the ballot for the remaining two years of the position previously held by Alisa Pearson prior to her resignation in September.

A special election was held in January to fill Pearson’s seat, but no one ran for the position at the time, and the person receiving the most write-in votes declined the job.

Polls will be open from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Ramsdell Room in the Library Complex, though early voting is already underway.

Town Clerk Kathleen Martell said she has already sent out more than 100 early voting and absentee ballots for the election.

The ballot includes a number of blank spaces where there would typically be candidates, Martell said, meaning some write-in campaigns are happening.

“A few people took out nomination papers, but did not get their signatures due to the COVID-19 pandemic,” Martell said.

Names on the ballot, all in uncontested elections, include Norman L. Page, of Boyden Road, for a three-year term on the Cemetery Commission, Gillian H. Duda, of Harkness Road, for a three-year term on the library trustees, and Ronald C. Mannino, of Arnold Road, for a three-year term on the School Committee.

Write-in candidates include Sarahbess Kenney, Meetinghouse Road, for a three-year term on the School Committee, John Trickey, Daniel Shays Highway, for a one-year term as auditor, Chris Rice, Butter Hill Road, for a three-year term on the Board of Health, Anne Stoddard, Butter Hill Road, for a five-year term on the Planning Board, and Dan Robb, Amherst Road, for a one-year term as moderator

Offices with no candidates on the ballot or as write-ins include a second three-year term on the library trustees; a two-year term on the School Committee; and a three-year term on the Board of Assessors.

Scott Merzbach can be reached at smerzbach@gazettenet.com.