Leverett decides Planning Board contest

Monday, May 09, 2016

LEVERETT — The annual town election last Saturday decided one contested race for two seats on the Planning Board. One School Committee seat was left vacant and a new member will be appointed in a joint meeting by the Select Board and school board.

Leverett is the only town left in the state to nominate candidates from the floor of Town Meeting.

In the contested Planning Board race, Richard Nathhorst and Gary Gruber each received 97 votes and took the two available seats on the board.

Nathhorst was re-elected after his five-year term expired, and another vacancy was left by former Planning Board Chairman Jeff McQueen, who is moving to neighboring Amherst.

Nathhorst and Gruber ran against Fay Zipkowitz, who received 73 votes, according to Town Clerk Lisa Stratford.

Three spots were open on the School Committee because Audra Goscenski’s one-year term ended and former members Kip Fronsh and Alan Mully did not seek re-election.

Goscenski was returned to the committee and Tara Acker was newly elected.

According to Stratford, the town will post the one School Committee opening in its June newsletter, and the Select Board and school board will make a joint decision to appoint someone to fill the empty seat.

Also re-elected were Stratford; Select Board member Peter d’Errico; Finance Committee members Stephen Nagy and Philip Carter; Assessor Thomas Maczka, Constable Thomas Masterton; Board of Health members Michael Fair, Chuck Dauchy and Rich Brazeau; and library trustees Elaine Barker and Georgiana Schmid.