Three vying for two Hadley Select Board seats in sole contested race



Published: 04-11-2024 6:31 PM

HADLEY — A three-way race for two seats on the Select Board is the lone contest anticipated at the May 21 town election.

Amy Parsons, who currently chairs the board, is running for a second three-year term and will face former board member David J. Fill II, who currently chairs the Finance Committee, and Kyle Patrick Dragon, a regional animal control officer.

A mix of incumbents and newcomers are seeking the other available town positions, with no candidates for some slots.

Incumbents Humera Fasihuddin and Paul Phifer are running for the two three-year seats on the School Committee, and Mark T. Dunn is running for a second five-year term on the Planning Board.

Other incumbents seeking reelection include Jeffrey Mish for a three-year position on the Board of Assessors and Margaret Mastrangelo for a three-year term on the Board of Health.

Newcomers running for elective office include John J. Czajkowski Jr., who is seeking election as a library trustee after being appointed to fill a vacancy, and Robert Cross for a three-year seat on the Park Commission.

No one is running for a three-year and a two-year position as library trustees, or for five- and one-year terms on the Hadley Housing Authority.

The Select Board is scheduling 25 hours of early in-person voting for May 13 through May 17, daily from 9:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at the town clerk’s office at Town Hall.

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

State auditor: UMass violated law in axing Advancement office last year
Valley Bounty: Fibers for farmers: Western Massachusetts Fibershed turns local ‘throw away’ wool into fertilizer pellets
Budget rift emerges at Granby TM: Finance Committee at odds with School, Fire departments
With NCAA settlement, sea change comingfor UMass athletics
Judge denies Rintala’s motion to reduce prison sentence
More music, bigger stages: In new hands, Green River Festival returns next weekend with headliners CAKE, Fleet Foxes and Gregory Alan Isakov

— Scott Merzbach