Friends and Neighbors: Community members’ achievements

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Madison Rodriguez was named to the spring semester dean’s list at Regis University in Weston, where she is a member of the class of 2020.


Mikaela Cormier and Stephanie Zajac were named to the spring semester dean’s list at Morrisville State College in Morrisville, New York.

Cadet 1st Class Stephen Michael Owczarski graduated with a degree in marine engineering from the Massachusetts Maritime Academy in Buzzards Bay.

Mikayla Weigel placed first among her teammates on the University of New Hampshire Woodsmen Team for the second consecutive year, earning the right to compete in the Stihl Timbersports Northeast Championship.

The competition consisted of three events, Underhand Chop, Stock Saw, and Single Buck. In the Single Buck event, UNH alum and current Single Buck World Champion Kendall Kunelius worked the wedge for Mikayla.


Katie Erin Keegan graduated from McDaniel College in Westminster, Maryland, where she was also named to the spring semester high honors dean’s list. Keegan graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in psychology and was the recipient of The Greek Woman of the Year award.

Michael E Mieczkowski, a graduate of Williston Northampton School, will attend Clarkson University in Potsdam, New York, as a member of the class of 2021. Mieczkowski will be majoring in engineering studies.


Anna Tarren, a student at Ithaca College in Ithaca, New York majoring in biochemistry, gave a presentation at the 2017 National Conference on Undergraduate Research at the University of Memphis in Tennessee.


Colleen Glidden was inducted into Phi Sigma Tau International Honor Society at Assumption College, Worcester. Glidden is a member of the class of 2019 and a student in the philosophy department.

South Deerfield

Kimberly Logan was inducted into the Mortar Board National Honor Society at Western New England University, Springfield. Logan is majoring in finance.

Assumption College

Local students named to the spring semester dean’s list at the college in Worcester include:

Bryanna Veroneau of Belchertown, class of 2018; Lynsey Schafer, class of 2017, and Colleen Glidden of Shutesbury, class of 2019.

Clark University

The following local students have been named to the spring semester first honors dean’s list at the university in Worcester:

Koby L. Gardner-Levine and Natalie M. Piontkowski of Amherst.

The following local students have been named to the spring semester second honors dean’s list at Clark:

Cora Torton of Amherst; Zachary E. Kelley of Hadley; and Serina A. Cook of Sunderland.

Connecticut College

Ege Sakirt of Amherst, class of 2019, received the Connecticut College Bookshop Prize at the college in New London, Connecticut.

Elms College

Nurses who have completed their baccalaureate degrees at the School of Nursing at College of Our Lady of the Elms were honored in a pinning ceremony May 15 on the college campus. Local graduates included Brittany Hulse, Belchertown.

Fairfield University

The following local students were named to the spring semester dean’s list at the university in Fairfield, Connecticut:

Courtney Campbell, majoring in management, and Vicki Law, majoring in politics, both of Belchertown.

Northfield Mount Hermon

The following local residents have been named to the dean’s list at the school in Mount Hermon:

Hann-Yu Wu of Amherst; Riley Kullen Humphrey of Leverett; and Annika Wrenn Fulton Voorheis of Sunderland.

Elizabeth Katherine Platzner of Sunderland was named to the academic honors list at Northfield Mount Hermon.

Union College

Steinmetz Symposium Day at Union College in Schenectady, New York, features an extensive array of oral presentations, posters, performances and exhibits. Local students included as presenters are:

Brendan O’Connor, Kevin Tran, and Natalia Ciesielska, all of Amherst andmembers of the class of 2017.

UMass Dartmouth

The following local students graduated from the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth:

Nathan Kane, Nash Lochner and Yenny Otalora Sevilla of Amherst; Sunha Chung of Belchertown; and Miles Wilhelms-Tricarico of Hadley.

The University ofRhode Island

The following local students were named to the spring semester dean’s list at the university in Kingston, Rhode Island:

Johann Sebastian Becker, Cary Alexander Pazmany and Nina-Monique Choquette, all of Amherst; and Patrick James Michalak and Madisyn Burke Stevens, both of Hadley.

Wesleyan University

Local students who received academic prizes, fellowships and scholarships at a reception May 10 in Middletown, Connecticut, include:

Sofia Taylor of Deerfield (formerly of Deerfield Academy), Frank Capra Prize.

Mae Moskin of Hadley (formerly of Amherst-Pelham Regional High School), Scott Prize-Arabic.

Nadja Shannon-Dabek of Amherst (formerly of Amherst-Pelham Regional High School), Trench Prize.